Minty Fresh

The smell of mint does something to me. It tickles my nose in such a way that I can’t help but smile. I just hear the name,Β spearmint, peppermint, chocolate mint, mint, mint, mint, and I begin giggling like a school girl. When at restaurants, I load up on those after-dinner mints to a point where it’d be embarrassing to be seen with me. If you looked in my car, you’d be sure to find those dinner mints spilling out of the glove compartment whenever you’d reach inside expecting to grab a napkin. Come the holiday season, I’ll begin applying a peppermint lotion that tempts me to lick it off my fingers, and would certainly succeed if I didn’t have mint whipped cream to add on top of a steamy cup of mint hot chocolate served in a mug decked out with holly leaves (sorry, no mint mug) to distract me.

DSCN1091The other night, in an effort to complete a bucket list item and cook up some tasty and healthy recipes, I made a delicious fettuccine pistachio-mint pesto dish. Can you guess what main ingredient attracted me to this dish?

But while combing the grocery store for ingredients, I still found myself wanting for a small sprig of mint. Finally, I found some mint, but it definitely wasn’t a small sprig; instead, they had a mint plant. A whole plant producing that wonderful smell and delightful taste that has long left me cheerful! Needless to say, I bought it. The whole plant. And now it sits in a pot on our deck, and I find myself making more and more excuses to sit outside, smell my mint, and be happy.

IMG_2371

7 thoughts on “Minty Fresh

  1. If you plant that mint in your garden, depending on where you live, it might take over and give you mint EVERYWHERE! I’ve found it almost too easy to grow!

    • I’ve heard that! Unfortunately, we don’t have a garden at my house because we’re in the woods and don’t get too much sunlight. But, it’s on my bucket list to create one, so we’ll see when I get around to it πŸ™‚

  2. I love the smell of mint too! It’s so easy to grow too. I remember when I was a child we had tons of mint growing in my backyard. I will now have to grow some for my balcony garden, and of course use it for fresh mojitos and maybe even some mint jelly πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

