Make Your Bed, Make Your Day

I have vivid memories of being a young child and constantly being nagged to make my bed. I don’t know why it was any concern of my mother’s as to the cleanliness of my room, but she constantly fought with me over the state of my purple flowered sheets and green flowered quilt.

bed sheetsBut now that I’m older, something weird has happened. I simply cannot bare to start my day with an unmade bed.

I love knowing that no matter what happens in the day, I’m off to an organized and predictable start when I wake up and begin folding covers and tucking in edges just how I like. There’s a peace of mind offered by knowing that no matter what the day brings, I at least know I’ve gotten one thing right in making my bed.

Sometimes, mothers are smart ladies.

Leave a Reply

