Just Keep Running

A couple of weeks ago, I truly ran for the first time in my life.

beautiful running

Outdoors.

In the sunshine.

Music blurring into the background.

Feet hitting the pavement and sending chills through my body with every step.

Breathing in unison with the thoughts gusting through my open mind.

It was glorious and I was honest to goodness happy. Happy with myself. Happy with my results. Happy with my legs.

Then, the injuries came. It began with my knee, a tight feeling that made it uncomfortable to walk. Soon, the discomfort moved to my shin, creating a jarring pain every time I stepped down with my left foot. Next, my ankle took a turn, and with each bend I felt a tug on my foot that just didn’t belong.

I had to stop putting my feet to the pavement and start putting them up on the couch to recuperate. Unfortunately, weeks later and with a pair of new and unused running shoes, the jarring feeling in my left shin is still present and giving me reservations about getting back on track for my 5K running plan.

I don’t really know how to handle this situation, though I’m well aware that I should wait to get back into running until I’m completely healed. Yet, I like to think that even though I haven’t been constantly exercising, running is now one of those things that just calls to me, and I hope I answer enthusiastically sometime soon.sunshine run

3 thoughts on “Just Keep Running

  1. Good on you for getting started! I have never really been a runner, and I’ve also lived with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for 8 years, but several years ago I decided I had to get fit. 2 weeks ago I ran 6km. The greatest distance I’ve run in my life! It’s taken me 8 years to build up to it, but it’s amazing how, even with chronic health issues, you can still get fit.
    Make sure you’re doing plenty of stretching and maybe run shorter distances and then do a fast walk for a bit and then run again. It’s important not to hurt yourself, but as you keep going, your strength and fitness will gradually build up and you won’t hurt so much! x

Leave a Reply

